Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine Fact Sheet

Training Tomorrow's Doctors, Discovering Tomorrow's Cures
  • Is one of the nation's 125 medical schools, with a current enrollment of 377.
  • Has graduated 2,155 M.D.'s since its charter class in 1980, with more than one-third of them practicing in the Greater Miami Valley.
  • Offers dual-degree programs combining the M.D. with a Ph.D., M.B.A., or M.P.H.
  • Provides advanced clinical training in 12 medical specialties for almost 400 resident physicians in partnership with local hospitals and also offers fellowship programs in cardiology, hematology/oncology, gastroenterology, infectious disease, and sports medicine.
  • Employs 318 full-time, fully affiliated faculty and is associated with 1,200 volunteer physicians and health care professionals from the community who serve as clinical faculty.
  • Has received more than $113.2 million in research grants over the last five years.
  • Is a partner in statewide research coalitions, including the Genome Research Infrastructure Partnership.
  • Is nationally recognized for research excellence in human growth and development; substance abuse treatment and research; genomics; neuroscience; and toxicogenomics.
  • Is categorized as a community-based medical school because of its affiliations with two premier federal healthcare institutions — the Dayton V.A. Medical Center and the U.S. Air Force Medical Center at Wright-Patterson Air Force Base — and five community teaching hospitals:
    • Children's Medical Center
    • Good Samaritan Hospital
    • Greene Memorial Hospital
    • Kettering Medical Center
    • Miami Valley Hospital
Last edited on 12/15/2014.