Wright State University Surgeon Awarded Exclusive Fellowship for Female Leaders in Medical Education

Paula Termuhlen, M.D., surgeon with the WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine, one of 48 fellows selected for national program in executive leadership

DAYTON, Ohio-Women are becoming doctors, dentists and health care administrators in increasing numbers, but they remain underrepresented among the highest levels of leadership in these professions.

A prominent local physician and educator has received a prestigious fellowship established to change this fact.

Paula Termuhlen, M.D., associate professor of surgery with the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, has been selected as a fellow of the 2008-2009 Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women.

Termuhlen is chief of the medical school's division of surgical oncology and is program director of the general surgery residency program. She also practices with Wright State Physicians Surgical Oncology and Breast Care. Termuhlen specializes in the areas of breast cysts, cancer and diseases, abnormal mammograms, in-office biopsy with imaging, skin lesion evaluation and melanoma.

ELAM is a yearlong program designed to prepare senior women faculty for positions of leadership at academic health centers. Organized by the Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia, ELAM names approximately 48 fellows each year following a competitive nationwide selection process.

Program activities consist of three weeklong intensive on-site sessions, as well as a series of individual activities and projects to complete throughout the year. The program curriculum focuses on a variety of topics in leadership, management, health administration and personal and professional development.

Some 90 percent of medical schools and half of all dental schools in the United States currently list ELAM graduates among their faculty or staff. Past ELAM fellows include 21 deans, 90 department chairs, 30 center or institute directors and 70 senior dean's staff members throughout North America.

Termuhlen is the fifth ELAM fellow selected from Wright State since the program was established in 1995.

Editor's Note: For more information, contact Phillip Neal, Marketing and Communications, Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, (937) 775-4587 or phillip.neal@wright.edu.

For more information, contact Marketing and Communications.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.