WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine Inducts New Gold Humanism Honor Society Members

Medical students, resident physicians and faculty member honored for excellence, leadership, compassion and service

DAYTON, Ohio-The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine has inducted 13 fourth-year medical students and six physicians into the Gold Humanism Honor Society. The students, selected by a vote of their peers and the medical school faculty, were recognized at a ceremony on October 21 at Country Club of the North for their "excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion and dedication to service."

The selected students and their hometowns (all in Ohio) include:

Tyler M. Angelos-Upper Arlington
Hiloni M. Bhavsar-Kettering
Elizabeth Davis-Hudson
Seethal A. Jacob-Centerville
Jeffery Jenks-Toledo
Franciska Kiraly-Akron
Benjamin M. Mack-New Riegel
Shiao-Pei Pan-Troy
Benjamin L. Radcliffe-Mount Vernon (and Kudjip, Papua New Guinea)
Katherine J. Radcliffe-Mount Vernon
Luke D. Rothermel-Worthington
Ellen C. Savinell-Stow
Coral Spicer-New Carlisle

Physicians inducted into the honor society include Sherman Alter, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics and medical director of the infectious disease department at The Children's Medical Center of Dayton. Alter received the annual Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented at the medical school's Commencement in May.

Five outstanding resident physicians were also inducted into the honor society after receiving Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards during the Student Clinician's Ceremony in August.

Honored as outstanding role models, the residents include:
Daniel J. Bebo, M.D.
Bryan Curtis, M.D.
Benjamin J. Missick, M.D.
Ryan Q. Simon, M.D.
Alicia M. Watson, M.D.

Mary T. White, Ph.D., professor of community health and director of the Division of Medical Humanities, serves as faculty advisor for the Wright State University chapter of the society, which was established in 2004.

For more information, contact Marketing and Communications.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.