Richard Laughlin, M.D., appointed Orthopaedic Surgery Chair at Wright State University's Boonshoft School of Medicine

Dayton, Ohio-Richard T. Laughlin, M.D., has been appointed chair of Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine's Department of Orthopaedic Surgery.

A faculty member since 1994, Laughlin serves as associate professor and residency program director of orthopaedic surgery. He is certified by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery, and is a fellow of the American College of Surgeons. He is an active member of the Orthopaedic Trauma Association, American Orthopaedic Foot and Ankle Society, the American College of Surgeons, and Wright State Physicians. He serves on the Trauma Committee at Miami Valley Hospital, directs the Dayton Orthopaedic Society and is the director of medical student education for the department. His specialty is the foot and ankle, and he also focuses on trauma and adult reconstruction.

Dr. Laughlin holds a B.A. from the University of Notre Dame, an M.S. in sports medicine from Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas, and an M.D., from the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. He completed an orthopaedic surgery and rehabilitation rotation at Rancho Los Amigos Hospital in Downy, California, and a orthopaedic surgery residency at the Division of Orthopaedics and Rehabilitation at Southern Illinois University in Springfield, Illinois. He also completed an E. Burke Evans Foot and Ankle Fellowship in Galveston, Texas and an AO Fellowship in foot and ankle reconstruction at University of Washington, Harborview Medical Center, in Seattle.

For more information, contact Marketing and Communications.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.