U.S. Surgeon General to deliver commencement address at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine

Regina Benjamin, M.D., M.B.A., will address 88 members of the class of 2010 as they receive their medical degrees and officially become physicians

DAYTON, Ohio-After dedicating four or more years to intense study and rigorous, specialized training, the 88 members of the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine class of 2010 will receive their M.D. degrees during the school's commencement ceremony on May 28.

In addition to the conferring of degrees, the evening event, to be held in the Schuster Performing Arts Center in downtown Dayton, includes a "hooding ceremony" in which graduates receive traditional regalia denoting their status and profession. The graduates will also take a professional oath to mark the start of their medical careers and sign a registry to commemorate their first use of the initials "M.D." following their names.

This July, the graduates will move on to prestigious residencies and receive advanced training in a primary care field or one of dozens of medical specialties. The new physicians will be entering outstanding programs in Dayton, throughout Ohio, and across the country, including the Mayo Clinic's Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, Yale, Georgetown, Boston University, the University of California and the University of Chicago Medical Center.

Nearly half of the graduates will remain in Ohio during residency, and 43 percent will enter a primary care field such as family medicine, internal medicine or pediatrics.

Regina Benjamin, M.D., M.B.A., Surgeon General of the United States Public Health Service, will deliver the commencement address, entitled "What America Wants and What Society Needs in its Future Physicians." As Surgeon General, Benjamin is charged with providing the public with the best scientific information available on how to improve health. She also oversees the operational command of 6,500 uniformed health officers who serve around the world to promote, protect, and advance the health of the American people.

Each year the graduating class presents an Appreciation Award to recognize an individual or organization for significant contributions to the medical school. The class of 2010 will honor the Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Medical Center. One of the U.S. Air Force's largest medical treatment facilities, the medical center is operated by more than 1,800 members of the 88th Medical Group and provides a full range of specialty and subspecialty services for more than 56,000 beneficiaries. The medical center has been an integral and invaluable partner since the medical school's founding in 1973. In addition to operating several joint residency programs in conjunction with the medical school, the center provides essential clinical experiences for both medical students and residents.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.