Boonshoft School of Medicine family physician to receive Pfizer Teacher Development Award

DAYTON—Joseph Allen, M.D., who is affiliated with the Department of Family Medicine at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, was one of 13 physicians nationwide selected to receive the 2012 Pfizer Teacher Development Award.

This award recognizes outstanding, new community-based physicians who combine clinical practice with part-time teaching of family medicine.

Allen, who earned his medical degree from Wright State in 2006, was honored by the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP) Foundation for his commitment to education in the field of family medicine. In addition to teaching, Allen practices at Family Medicine of Vandalia.

Award recipients were selected based on their scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and dedication to family medicine. The award provides funding for each recipient to attend an activity of his or her choice to further professional development and teaching skills. This program is supported by a grant from Pfizer Inc.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.