Gary LeRoy, M.D., named Associate Dean for Student Affairs and Admissions

Gary L. LeRoy, M.D., has been appointed associate dean for Student Affairs and Admissions at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.

As associate dean for student affairs and admissions, LeRoy will work with the 400 medical students at Wright State, from their admission through graduation and on into residency, and will advise the school's senior leadership on all facets of medical education, including recruitment, admissions, tuition and fees, and academics.

A past-president of the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians, LeRoy has held leadership positions in the American Academy of Family Physicians and Phi Rho Sigma Medical Society. He is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society and a fellow in the American Academy of Family Physicians. He is also a member of the Golden Key International Honor Society. He was recognized as one of America's 50 Most Positive Physicians, as the Miami Valley Family Physician of the Year, and is listed in the National Registry of Who's Who in America. He has received the Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine award; the Dayton Business Journal's Health Care Hero's Provider Award; the Certificate of Recognition by the Ohio House of Representatives and Ohio Senate; the Outstanding Volunteerism Award - from Reach Out of Montgomery County; the Humanism in Medicine award-Gem City Medical, Dental and Pharmaceutical Society, and Dayton's Top Ten African American Male award.

Active in the community, LeRoy has served on the Board of Trustees for Miami Valley Academy of Family Physicians, Miami Valley Hospital, Hospice of Dayton, Reach Out of Montgomery County, Dayton Gem Special Needs Center, The Dayton Foundation, Wright State University Alumni Association and currently serves as medical director of the East Dayton Health Center.

A native Daytonian, LeRoy holds a B.S. from Wright State University, and an M.D. from Wright State University School of Medicine.

Located in Dayton, Ohio, the community-based Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine is affiliated with seven major teaching hospitals in southwest Ohio. In addition to providing medical education leading to the M.D., M.D./Ph.D., M.D./M.B.A. or M.D./M.P.H. degree, the medical school provides residency training in 13 medical specialties and continuing medical education programs for the community's practicing physicians. Its nationally recognized research programs include centers of excellence in genomics, toxicology, neuroscience, substance abuse and treatment, and human growth and development.

Last edited on 07/16/2015.