Glenn C. Hamilton, M.D., receives Trustees' Award for Faculty Excellence

Glenn C. Hamilton, M.D., has been awarded the 2009 Wright State University Trustees' Award for Faculty Excellence, the highest award given by the university.

Dr. Hamilton served as chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine within the Boonshoft School of Medicine from 1982 to 2009, when he stepped down to oversee the development of Calamityville, an education and research facility that will provide one-of-a-kind training opportunities for medical, public health, public safety and civilian and military disaster response decision makers worldwide. In addition to being an active emergency physician, he supervised a department with six area hospital sites and emergency departments that care for 330,000 patients each year. He has directly contributed to the training of more than 2,000 medical students and 300 residents in the Dayton region.

Now in its 26th year, the Trustees' Award is given to outstanding Wright State full-time, fully affiliated faculty members who demonstrate a sustained and balanced contribution to the teaching, research and professional service mission of the university. The award is intended to honor those who serve as the most outstanding of role models for all faculty.

"Dr. Hamilton's dedication and service have had an extraordinary and multi-faceted impact on our university and on the discipline of emergency medicine," said Howard Part, M.D., dean of the WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine. "His work here and nationally is representative of a consummate faculty member worthy of the Wright State University Trustees' Award for Faculty Excellence."

As the longest-serving chair in emergency medicine in the United States, Dr. Hamilton has provided mentoring and leadership that have impacted medical schools all over the country. He founded the consultation service that supported the development of more than 60 emergency medicine residency-training programs and led to 15 new academic departments around the United States. He has served as editor or as a contributing editor for four primary textbooks used in the teaching of medical students. Emergency Medicine: An Approach to Clinical Problem Solving is used by one-third of the country's medical schools; another is the flagship text Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice fifth and sixth editions.

Dr. Hamilton developed the National Center for Medical Readiness (NCMR) with Mark Gebhart, M.D., associate professor of emergency medicine. The NCMR Tactical Laboratory ("Calamityville") is one of several projects established by the center. Over the last five years, NCMR has been awarded more than $25 million in state and federal grants and contracts to develop the themes of disaster preparedness and medical readiness. His interest in disaster management began in 1979 when he served as a faculty member in charge of the Cincinnati General Emergency Department during the Who concert tragedy that December.

"He has made unmatched contributions to the development of the Calamityville project and has galvanized the campus community and the Dayton region to rally around the theme of emergency preparedness," said Michele Wheatly, Ph.D., dean of the College of Science and Mathematics.

He is the founder and inaugural board member of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine, which has more than 5,000 members.

Dr. Hamilton is the recipient of numerous top awards in his professions:

  • 2006 Joy McCann Scholar, which honored 14 of the nation's leading doctors and scientists.
  • Outstanding Contribution in Education Award from the American College of Emergency Physicians.
  • The two highest awards from the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine: Academic Excellence Award, and Leadership Award.

Dr. Hamilton earned his medical degree with distinction from the University of Michigan in 1973, and a master of science in management from the prestigious Sloan Program at Stanford University Graduate School of Business in 1990.

Last edited on 05/29/2015.