Ohio's American College of Physicians honors four local physicians

The Ohio Chapter of the American College of Physicians (ACP) presented awards during its Annual Scientific Meeting to four Wright State medical faculty.

Thomas E. Herchline, M.D., F.A.C.P., was awarded the ACP Ohio Chapter's 2006 Volunteerism Award for his dedication, altruism, and passionate volunteerism with groups such as the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society, Hearts for Honduras, along with and beyond his usual and regular professional activities. He is an associate professor of internal medicine at the Boonshoft School of Medicine, serves as medical director at the Combined Health District of Montgomery County, is a civil surgeon for the US Citizenship and Immigration Services, and is medical director of the Infectious Diseases Research Laboratory at Miami Valley Hospital.

Three out of the four 2006 Master Teacher Awards presented by the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Physicians were given to Wright State Boonshoft School of Medicine faculty. A master teacher must have demonstrated excellent teaching skills to medical students, resident physicians, and physician colleagues for a period of at least ten years.

Hassan Mehbod, M.D., F.A.C.P., is a clinical professor of internal medicine and currently serves as interim associate clerkship director at Good Samaritan Hospital for the Department of Medicine. He has served the medical community in numerous venues and has been the recipient of 11 teaching awards during his tenure. Mehbod was chosen for his love of teaching and leading discussions on the management of newly admitted patients and new medical technology as it relates to the care of today's sickest patients.

Satyendra C. Gupta, M.D., F.A.C.P., is professor of medicine and former division chief of Cardiology for the WSU Department of Internal Medicine and for the Dayton Veterans Affairs Medical Center, where he served from 1975 to June 2006. He has numerous publications in peer-reviewed journals and chapters in published textbooks. He received the award for his daily teaching, which provides residents and students with an outstanding knowledge of cardiology, and for clarity, quality, accountability, and excellence in teaching methods.

Barbara L. Schuster M.D., M.A.C.P., is professor and chair of the Department of Internal Medicine at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, serving in this capacity since 1995. She is a nationally recognized author of educational papers and a sought after reviewer for prestigious medical journals. She has been a state and national leader in ACP and currently serves as president of the prestigious Association of Professors in Medicine.

The American College of Physicians (ACP) is the nation's largest medical specialty society whose mission is to enhance the quality and effectiveness of health care through fostering excellence and professionalism in the practice of medicine. ACP was founded in 1915 to promote the science and practice of medicine. ACP membership includes about 120,000 members, including medical students.

Last edited on 05/29/2015.