WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine Department of Geriatrics receives award from Ohio Association of Area Agencies on Aging

The Ohio Association of Area Agencies on Aging recognized the Department of Geriatrics of the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine and the Dayton Area Agency on Aging, PSA 2 (Planning and Service Area Region 2) with its 2013 Outstanding Area Agency on Aging/Provider Partnership of the Year Award.

Presented at the annual meeting of the Ohio Association of Area Agencies on Aging on Nov. 13 in Columbus, Ohio, the award highlights a partnership with significant contributions, exemplary cooperation and innovative approaches for improving services to older adults.

The Dayton Area Agency on Aging, which serves seniors and their caregivers in Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Logan, Miami, Montgomery, Preble and Shelby counties, had identified a gap in medical care for older adults who had difficulty finding primary care physicians or had no primary care physician to address complex geriatric medical and neuropsychiatric conditions.

In 2007, Larry Lawhorne, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Geriatrics, approached the Dayton Area Agency on Aging to understand the needs of older adults in the region. Since then, the Dayton Area Agency on Aging has held a unique partnership with the Department of Geriatrics to link older adults in the greater Dayton region to necessary primary medical care and provide field opportunities to students and staff in the field of geriatrics.

As a result, more than 50 older adults have been linked to medical care and home and community-based services. The partnership also has provided resident physicians and student nurses with an expanded knowledge base of the unique needs of the older adult population.

Last edited on 04/29/2015.