New Neurology Residency Program approved at WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine

Inside Boonshoft ยป January 2014

The Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) has approved a new residency program in neurology at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine. The ACGME is a private, nonprofit council that evaluates and accredits residency programs in the United States.

The Neurology Residency Program will help expand the number of neurologists in the Dayton region by training the future leaders in neurology patient care, research and education. The new program, which will begin on July 1, 2014, was approved to accept up to 16 residents.

"We seek to graduate neurologists who are prepared to meet the challenges presented by the rapidly expanding body of knowledge in the neurosciences," said Bradley Jacobs, M.D., M.S., director of the residency program and associate professor of neurology. "We have carefully designed a program that builds the basic strengths necessary to become an outstanding clinical neurologist and, for those interested in research, to develop into a first-rate physician scientist."

Last edited on 09/22/2015.