Division of Aerospace Medicine

Residency Program

About the Residency Program

This two-year training program is fully-accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). In addition to their clinical training, residents must complete graduate-level coursework, leading to a Master of Science in Aerospace Medicine. This coursework is integrated within the two-year program. At the completion of their training, residents will receive both a residency certificate and a Master of Science in Aerospace Medicine, thus fulfilling the board eligibility requirements for certification in aerospace medicine by the American Board of Preventive Medicine.

Minimum Requirements for Residency Applicants

  1. This is a NASA-funded program. United States citizenship is required.
  2. Completion of all the three steps of the USMLE examinations.
  3. An ECFMG certificate, if the applicant is a foreign medical graduate (FMG)
  4. Applicants must have successfully completed at least 12 months of clinical education (PGY-1) in a residency program accredited by the ACGME, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, or the College of Family Physicians of Canada. Resident experience must include at least 11 months of direct patient care in both inpatient and outpatient settings.

Preferred Experience for Residency Applicants

  1. Completion of an Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) or American Osteopathic Association (AOA) accredited residency program.
  2. Board Certification by an American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) Member Board.
  3. Master of Public Health (M.P.H.) degree.
  4. Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Private Pilot Certificate or higher.

Training Program Outline

First Year: During the first year of training residents will be enrolled full-time in the Master of Science in Aerospace Medicine curriculum and complete three semesters of coursework. Additionally, residents complete a minimum of 80 days of clinical rotations involving direct patient care. The clinical portion of training in the first year is conducted at the ASM Flight Medicine Clinic and nearby medical offices. Residents will also attend EAA Air Venture in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, and the annual Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) meeting. Flight training and ground school, tailored to the resident’s aviation background, is also conducted throughout the first year.

Second Year: During the second year of training residents complete rotations at numerous locations both locally and outside the Dayton metropolitan area. Local rotations include the Greene County Combined Health District (GCCHD), Wright-Patterson Air Force Base (WPAFB), Montgomery County Coroner’s Office, ASM Flight Medicine Clinic and the Kettering Medical Center. Rotations outside the Dayton metropolitan area include EAA Air Venture in Oshkosh, Wisconsin; NASA/Johnson Space Center, Houston, Texas; NASA/Kennedy Space Center, Florida; FAA/CAMI, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Annual Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) meeting; and the FAA/Great Lakes Regional Office, Chicago, Illinois.

Master of Science Degree: The Master of Science in Aerospace Medicine degree is awarded to residents who complete 42 semester hours of graduate course work as described in the M.S. curriculum.

Scholarship Opportunities

Several scholarships are available through the Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA), the AsMA Foundation, Constituent Organizations of AsMA and other organizations affiliated with the AsMA.

  • Visit the AsMA website to learn more

The International Academy of Aviation and Space Medicine also has a scholarship program to enable young physicians commencing a career in aerospace medicine to undertake training in the specialty. The scholarship can be used to facilitate attendance at a formal training course, or participation in a work program (one year or more, structured towards educational goals) in a recognized aerospace medicine institute.

Last edited on 08/28/2015.