2014 Graduation

Vital Signs » Fall 2014
photo of a graduate and a professor

One hundred and five members of the Boonshoft School of Medicine class of 2014 received their M.D. degrees during the school’s commencement ceremony at the Benjamin and Marian Schuster Performing Arts Center on May 23.

Gregory Toussaint, M.D., associate professor of pediatrics and medical director, inpatient general pediatrics at Dayton Children’s Hospital, delivered the commencement address.

In addition to the degrees, several special awards and honors were presented during the ceremony:

Appreciation Award— Howard M. Part, M.D., the fifth dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine

For his exceptional leadership in support of students and medical education.

Dean’s Award— Paul A. Krebs

For demonstrating a commitment to academic excellence, embodying empathy and compassion toward others, exemplifying personal integrity and professionalism, and earning the respect and trust of classmates and faculty.

The Arnold P. Gold Foundation’s Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award— Elizabeth A. Markus (graduate) and Brenda Roman, M.D., professor, psychiatry, and assistant dean for curriculum development (faculty)

For consistently demonstrating compassion and empathy in the delivery of care to patients.

Teaching Excellence Award— Gregory Toussaint, M.D., associate professor, pediatrics

For displaying outstanding professional skill and pride in discharging his instructional duties.

View a slide show of Graduation 2014


Last edited on 09/22/2015.