WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY BOONSHOFT SCHOOL OF MEDICINE

Executive Committee Meeting February 14, 2019 MINUTES

Presiding: Margaret M. Dunn, Dean

Present: Drs. Eric Bennett, Jim Brown, John Duby, Julie Gentile, Tom Hardy, Mike Johnson, Madhavi Kadakia, Paul Koles, Marietta Orlowski, Brenda Roman, Glen Solomon, Daniel Swagerty, Steve Swedlund, Jeff Travers, Julian Trevino, and Jerry Yaklic

Staff: Angela Clements, Drew Dieckman, Kim Paul and Bette Sydelko

The meeting was called to order at 4:30 p.m. by Dean Margaret Dunn

1. Approval of Minutes:

A motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously to approve the minutes of January 10, 2019, as written.

2. Report of the Dean:

Dr. Dunn congratulated Bette Sydelko on her retirement and thanked her for her years of service to the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

A. Welcome, Dr. Marietta Orlowski, Interim Chair, PPHS

Dr. Orlowski accepted the Interim Chair position effective February 1, 2019. Dr. Orlowski's focus has been on social determinants of health, risk reduction on children and adolescents, building capacity for community-based program evaluation and theoretical framework of public health programs and safety.

B. WSU Update:

The strike is officially over and faculty members are back in the classroom. It is yet to be determined the impact the strike will have on BSOM.

3. Information Items:

A. Personnel Actions:

Dr. Dunn presented the personnel action items that were distributed with the agenda. A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to accept the personnel actions as distributed.

B. Members' Items:

 Dr. Roman: Drs. Barbara Barzansky and Veronica Catanese left a voicemail that BSOM is fully accredited. They also stated the committee was complimentary of the progress made by BSOM. The CQI Committee will continue to meet and will continue to review the standards. The next accreditation visit is scheduled for the 2024-2025 school year. If you have faculty members interested in assisting in undergraduate interprofessional education, please contact Dr. Roman. It will mostly entail reacting to cases as a member on a panel for approximately 2-3 hours.

Angela Clements: Please consider joining the Academy of Medicine. The
membership dues help provide low interest loans to medical students. The Academy
of Medicine Annual dinner is scheduled for Wednesday, April 24th at The Steam
Plant. The speaker for the evening is BSOM graduate, Dr. Sara Doorley.

The department is down an employee, Heather Maurer, until they are able to hire a replacement. Please submit any requests or social media information to som_mc@wright.edu.

- Dr. Solomon: The ACGME just finished their three day site visit in the Department of Internal Medicine. It was a successful and pleasant visit and the committee was complimentary of the Gastroenterology and Core Internal Medicine programs.
- Dr. Yaklic: Dr. Amanda Hawkins and Dr. Anthony Pickrel were featured on the MVH
 Wall of Excellence. There were 12 total residents featured on the wall.

Dr. Galloway accepted a chair position at Texas Tech and will be leaving at the end of June. As of July 1, 2019, OB/GYN will be down three doctors and will be actively and aggressively recruiting.

- Dr. Travers: Dr. Robert Murphy will be recognized at the Earl Morris Symposium on Wednesday, March 27th at 9:30 a.m. in the NEC Auditorium.
 - Dr. Mike Kemp received an RO1. He is on the cusp of being awarded another RO1 on the same study section as Dr. Travers.
- Dr. Johnson: The Department of Orthopaedic and Plastic Surgery hired a new Student Coordinator, Samantha Emrick, who will be focusing on student efforts and formalizing both the plastics and orthopaedic curriculums. This past year approximately 39 students rotated through plastics and approximately 18 students rotated through orthopaedics.
- Dr. Duby: All of the pediatric specialist positions that needed to be hired have been filled. An adolescent medicine physician, allergy physician and rheumatologist have been hired.

The new Child Health Pavilion will be opening on April 30th. It will feature expanded fostering relationship care, a medical complexity center, and a weight management program. There will also be a food pharmacy for families who need access to healthy foods as well as nutritionists and a demonstration kitchen. Later in the year, developmental pediatrics and a dental practice will move in.

 Dr. Kadakia: Please complete and encourage your full-time faculty members to also complete the research survey that was recently distributed via email. The last BSOM Research Task Force meeting went very well and facilitated a lot of discussion.

4. New Business:

A. Wright Rural Medical Scholars Program: Lori Martensen, Rural Health Initiative Director, Lake Campus

The Wright Rural Medical Scholars Program was recently approved by the BSOM Faculty Curriculum Committee. There will be three defined components within this program:

1. Rural Track

Students admitted to the track will be required to complete rural-based activities throughout their undergraduate medical education (see "Requirements" for more specific details) and upon the successful completion of all requirements, be recognized at graduation for successful completion of the rural track.

2. Stand-Alone Rural Experiences

Students not on the track may still have the opportunity to participate in rural activities, such as a single rural clerkship or elective, be an active member of the student organization Advocates for Rural Medicine, etc.

3. Advocates for Rural Medicine (Student organization)
Given the current number of rural preceptors, approximately five students
per year will be admitted to the Rural Track, which will include a rural AHEC
experience. The admissions process will occur in January of the first year of
medical school. There will be an opt in/opt out option. This program is funded
by State AHEC (Area Health Education Center) funds.

The Executive Committee unanimously affirmed the Wright Rural Scholars Program as approved by the Faculty Curriculum Committee.

B. "OneFifteen: Addiction Ecosystem and WSU BSOM Collaboration" Julie Gentile, M.D., Chair, Department of Psychiatry

5. Adjournment:

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:45 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting is Thursday, March 14, 4:30 p.m. at The Wandering Griffin, 3725 Presidential Drive, Beavercreek, Ohio 45324.

Respectfully submitted, *Drew Dieckman*Recorder