WRIGHT STATE UNIVERSITY BOONSHOFT SCHOOL OF MEDICINE Executive Committee Meeting April 9, 2020 MINUTES

Presiding: Margaret M. Dunn, Dean

Present: Drs. Linda Barney, Eric Bennett, Bruce Binder, Jim Brown, David Dhanraj, John Duby, Julie Gentile, Madhavi Kadakia, Paul Koles, Gary LeRoy, Col. Lloyd, Marietta Orlowski, Al Painter, Brenda Roman, Glen Solomon, Daniel Swagerty, Jeff Travers, Julian Trevino, Randy Woods, Jerry Yaklic, and Teresa Zryd

Staff: Joanna Anderson, Angela Clements, Drew Dieckman and Kim Paul

The meeting was called to order at 4:34 p.m. by Dean Margaret Dunn

1. Approval of Minutes:

A motion was made, seconded and passed unanimously to approve the minutes of February 13, 2020, as written.

2. Report of the Dean:

A. WSP Report:

WSP has applied for a loan from the CARES Act: Paycheck Protection Program. This is a forgivable eligible loan to keep people working and employed. WSP sent out a request to employees to see if anyone was interested in volunteering for flex staffing. There were 18 employees who volunteered for either a rotating or continuous furlough.

B. WSU Report:

Drs. Dunn, LeRoy and Roman are holding Town Hall meetings with each class. The purpose is to give updates, answer questions and relieve any fears students may have.

It is not likely that students will begin clinical rotations until the end of June or early July.

C. BSOM Dean Search:

There are 10 candidates who will be interviewed by the committee on Monday, April 13 and Tuesday, April 14. The next step is to figure out when candidates can visit the campus for in-person interviews.

D. Graduation:

Graduation will now take place virtually on Saturday, May 2 at 2:00 p.m. Drs. Dunn, LeRoy and Roman will dress in their regalia and give their remarks. Dr. Donnelly and the class representative will give their speeches as well. Josh Trippier and John Needles are putting together a video of the graduates each saying a piece of the Hippocratic Oath which will be played during the virtual ceremony.

E. University Faculty Awards:

BSOM did very well in the University Faculty Awards for Excellence:

• Eric Bennett, Ph.D.- Trustees' Award for Faculty Excellence

- Jeffrey Travers, M.D., Ph.D. Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research
- Clintoria Williams, Ph.D. Presidential Award for Faculty Excellence: Early Career Achievement
- Patrick Sonner, Ph.D. Presidential Award for Outstanding NTE Faculty: Service

F. Welcome Dr. David Dhanraj:

Dr. Dhanraj was previously a faculty member in the Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology. He left WSU to take a leadership position at Tri Health in Cincinnati. Dr. Yaklic recruited him back has a faculty member and Dr. Dhanraj will also serve as acting chair until Dr. Yaklic's replacement is secured.

3. Information Items:

A. Personnel Actions:

Dr. Painter presented the personnel action items that were distributed with the agenda. A motion was made, seconded and unanimously approved to accept the personnel actions as distributed.

B. Members' Items:

• Dr. Bennett: Dr. Keiichiro Susuki was approved for promotion and tenure and will be promoted to Associate Professor of NCBP in both CoSM (with tenure) and BSOM.

URM supplements to existing NIH grants were awarded to four NCBP faculty and the M.D./Ph.D student working in their respective labs.

• Dr. Painter: If you have faculty members who are ready to go up for promotion, please send their information to Dr. Painter at <u>albert.painter@wright.edu</u>. Dr. Painter will meet with them at least once to go over the promotion process.

Jeanne Schlater accepted at position at the University of Utah and is no longer with the department. Due to the hiring freeze the position has not been filled yet, however, the department is working on a transition plan so there is not a delay in services provided.

• Dr. LeRoy: BSOM had a 99.9% match rate this year. Many of students were accepted into prestigious residency programs. Thank you to everyone involved in getting each of the students to this point.

4. New Business:

A. Members' discussion on adapting to COVID-19:

The committee members gave updates on how their departments and offices were handling COVID-19 related challenges and how they were overcoming those challenges.

B. Future approval of the BSOM graduates:

In late April, Drew Dieckman will be sending out the list of graduates for the May 2, 2020 graduation. Once you review the list, please send Drew an email approving the list of graduates if you do approve.

5. Adjournment:

There being no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

The next scheduled meeting is Thursday, May 14, 4:30 p.m. on WebEx.

Respectfully submitted, *Drew Dieckman* Recorder