

Annual Faculty Meeting May 19, 2011 Faculty Development Committee

The Faculty Development Committee reviewed and approved nominations for the Faculty Mentor Award, faculty promotions, and university faculty awards.

# **Faculty Mentor Award**

The committee selected Madhavi Kadakia, Ph.D., and Ronald Markert, Ph.D. as recipients of the 2010 Mentor Award.

## Promotion

The committee reviewed the following faculty who were approved at the university level. Promotions become effective July 1, 2011.

### **Promotion to Professor**

- Mark Anstadt, MD (surgery)
- Nicole Borges, PhD (community health)
- John Donnelly, MD (family medicine)
- Mark Rich, MD, PhD (neuroscience, cell biology, & physiology)
- James Stark, MD, PhD (pediatrics
- Paula Termuhlen, MD (surgery)
- Julian Trevino, MD (dermatology)

#### **Promotion to Associate Professor**

- Sangeeta Agrawal, MBBS (internal medicine)
- Dean Bricker, MD (internal medicine)
- Karen Kirkham, MD (internal medicine)
- Matthew Lawless, MD (orthopaedic surgery)
- Oleg Paliy, PhD (biochemistry and molecular biology)
- Sara Paton, PhD (community health)
- Hari Polenakovik, MD (internal medicine)
- Louis Rubino, MD (orthopaedic surgery)
- Brian Springer, MD (emergency medicine)
- Randy Woods, MD (surgery)

### **University Faculty Awards**

The committee recommended three faculty for presidential awards – Distinguished Professor of Professional Service, Distinguished Professor of Research, and Early Career Achievement. Jerald Kay received the Frederick A. White Distinguished Professor of Professional Service award and Christopher Wyatt received the Early Career Achievement award.