

Annual Faculty Meeting May 16, 2013 Faculty Promotions and Advancement Committee

The Faculty Promotion and Advancement Committee reviewed and approved nominations for the Faculty Mentor Award, faculty promotions, and university faculty awards.

Faculty Mentor Award

The committee selected Steven Berberich, PhD, and Brenda Roman, MD, as recipients of the 2012 Mentor Award.

Promotion

The committee reviewed the following faculty who were approved at the university level. Promotions become effective July 1, 2013.

Promotion to Professor

| Sherman Alter, MD | Pediatrics |
|----------------------|------------------------------------|
| James E. Brown, MD | Emergency Medicine |
| Peter Ekeh, MD | Surgery |
| Madhavi Kadakia, PhD | Biochemistry and Molecular Biology |

Promotion to Associate Professor

| Salma Akram, MBBS | Internal Medicine |
|--------------------------|-------------------|
| Mamle Anim, MB ChB | Internal Medicine |
| Ashot Kozak, PhD | NCBP |
| Barbara Kraszpulska, PhD | NCBP |

University Faculty Awards

The committee recommended three faculty for presidential awards – Distinguished Professor of Research, Faculty Excellence in Community Engagement, and Early Career Achievement. Two of our nominees received the awards.

Julian Cambronero, PhD, biochemistry and molecular biology, received the Distinguished Professor of Research award.

Katherine Cauley, PhD, community health, received the Faculty Excellence in Community Engagement award.