Department of Community Health

photo of a resident with a patient


The Department of Community Health is a complex department with a number of distinct goals. Two divisions within the department are research oriented ā€” the Lifespan Health Research Center and the Center for Interventions, Treatment and Addictions Research.

Another major division is engaged in the education of resident physicians in aerospace medicine and in research in that field (the Division of Aerospace Medicine). The Aerospace Medicine Residency and Master of Science programs offered by the division were conceived in 1978, making them the oldest active civilian aerospace medicine training programs for physicians in the United States.

The mission of the Center for Global Health (CGH) is to provide education, conduct research and promote service towards improving and sustaining the health of populations and individuals worldwide. Educational responsibilities of the Center include the Master of Public Health degree program, the Certificate in Health Care Management, the Health Care Management concentration for the Wright State University Master of Business Administration program, the Physician Leadership Development Program, public health grand rounds and undergraduate medical student coursework.

The Center for Healthy Communities is a community-academic partnership committed to improving the health of the community and enhancing health professions education. In 2011, the CHC merged with the Center for Global Health and is now a division within the CGH. The CHC works with more than 75 health and human services, faith-based, and local and state government organizations, and all of the health professions programs at Wright State University, Sinclair Community College, and Kettering College of Medical Arts.

The Division of Medical Humanities serves to integrate the arts and humanities into the undergraduate curriculum and extracurricular activities at Boonshoft School of Medicine. The division offers courses in medical ethics and humanities, including a required first-year course, "Medical Ethics and Professionalism," case conferences in the clinical clerkships, and electives for first and fourth year students on various topics including Women and Medicine, Health Care in Developing Countries, Community Medicine, and Literature and Medicine. In addition, the Division cosponsors extracurricular activities such as the Humanism Honor Society.

Reach Out of Montgomery County is a 501(c)3 volunteer healthcare organization founded in 1994 by three medical leaders in the Miami Valley area: Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, Public Health ā€” Dayton and Montgomery County and the Montgomery County Medical Society. Reach Out's mission is to provide access to healthcare services for the underserved/uninsured population in Montgomery County.

The Department of Community Health is also affiliated with Premier Community Health. Premier Community Health is part of Premier Health and serves the community with programs focused on prevention, early detection and self-management education around heart, cancer, diabetes and lung health. It provides mammograms and Pap tests to uninsured and under-insured (working poor) women over 40 in nine counties. It also provides free and low cost heart risk assessments, colorectal cancer kits, diabetes education and hemoglobin A1Cā€™s, tobacco cessation counseling and more.

The mission of the department is to pursue excellence in teaching, research and service consistent with the overall mission of Boonshoft School of Medicine. The primary goal of that part of the department's activities not encompassed in the missions of the divisions described separately is the education of undergraduate medical students in social, ethical and legal dimensions of medical practice. The department consists of more than 36 faculty, 102 staff, and 106 voluntary faculty. We work closely with faculty in other clinical departments in the teaching program.

Last edited on 01/29/2015.