American Society of Internal Medicine gives top honors to WSU med students

Dayton, Ohio-Medical Students from Wright State recently received some of the top honors during the annual meeting of the American College of Physicians-American Society of Internal Medicine in Columbus, Ohio.

"During the annual conference medical students have the opportunity to participate in a few competitive activities," states Timothy Drehmer, M.D., assistant professor for internal medicine, chief of rheumatology, and a medical student advisor. "This year's group of students gave an amazing showing during the competitions and I am extremely proud of their work."

One activity was a medical challenge competition in a "Who Wants to be a Millionaire?" format. Internal medicine resident physicians and medical students from all over the state competed in this medical trivia competition. Ike Onwere, M.D., class of 2001, and a second-year internal medicine resident in the WSU Internal Medicine Residency Program, took first place, and fourth-year medical student Michael Davis took second place.

Two Wright State fourth-year medical students also placed first in separate categories of the poster competition. Barbara Stone won first place in the clinical vignette category with her presentation, "Pheochromocytoma-related Congestive Heart Failure Presenting as Pseudo-Infiltrates." Rebecca Podurgiel placed first in the research category with her entry titled, "Autoimmune Disease and Endometriosis-Elucidating a Link."

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.