Wright State University School of Medicine Opens a Gold Humanism Honor Society Chapter

DAYTON, OHIO-Ten fourth-year medical students and 30 physicians will be inducted into a new honor society on October 19 at Wright State University School of Medicine. The ten students were chosen by ballot of their peers and faculty.

The selected students and their hometowns include:

Melissa (Schweikhart) Bauserman (Springboro)
Kathryn Burkhardt (Kettering)
Katherine Conway (Cleveland)
Sara Doorley (Fairborn)
Mark Humphrey (Fredericktown)
Andrew Jacques (Beavercreek)
Katherine Kreinbrink (Ottawa)
Suzette Myton (Dayton)
Julianne Reighard (Urbana)
Rafael Rosario (Evansville, IN)

Physicians selected include the individuals who received the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award given annually at Commencement and the six outstanding resident physicians who receive the Humanism and Excellence in Teaching Awards during the Student Clinician's Ceremony each year. These physicians are recognized as outstanding role models.

Almost one-third of the nation's medical schools now host a Gold Humanism Honor Society Chapter. The society honors those who demonstrate "excellence in clinical care, leadership, compassion, and dedication to service." Sponsored by the Gold Foundation, the society seeks to elevate the values of humanism and professionalism within the field of medicine.

Mary T. White, Ph.D., associate professor of community health and director of the Division of Medical Humanities, will serve as faculty advisor for the new society.

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.