Glenn Hamilton, M.D., Chosen for President-Elect Slot

DAYTON, Ohio--Glenn C. Hamilton, MD, professor and chair of Emergency Medicine at Wright State University School of Medicine, was elected President-Elect of the Society of Academic Emergency Medicine at its recent annual meeting in May. Dr. Hamilton will serve a three-year term, taking office as president in 2005, and remaining on the Board of Directors as past-president for the academic year 2006.

The Society of Academic Emergency Medicine has existed since 1989 and currently has more than 6,000 members. The society represents the academic faculty and residents in emergency medicine at the allopathic and osteopathic medical schools in the country and more than 150 residency programs. Hamilton has served in numerous roles with the society, including being one of its founding members in 1989. Two of his most significant recent activities include being the chair of the SAEM Consult Service for the development of new residency training programs and the Under-Represented Minority Task Force to determine better means for recruitment of under-represented minority medical students into emergency medicine. He was recognized by the society with its two highest awards: the Hal Jane Academic Excellence Award and the Academic Leadership Award.

Hamilton has been chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine since 1981. In that capacity, he has assisted in the training of more than 240 emergency medicine physicians and 2,000 Wright State medical students. Under his guidance, the department has continued to expand its activities and currently has 14 full-time faculty and more than 100 clinical faculty. It has an accredited Fellowship in Sports Medicine as well as additional fellowships in Faculty Development and Pre-hospital Care. He is the author of three textbooks and more than 70 scholarly articles and is the recipient of more than a dozen grants. During the late 1990s, Hamilton had a significant role in introducing the specialty of emergency medicine to China Medical University in northern China.

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.