Physicians' Charitable Foundation of the Miami Valley Honored

DAYTON, OHIO-The graduating class of 2005 of Wright State University School of Medicine recognized the Physicians' Charitable Foundation of the Miami Valley for its significant contributions to the school by presenting the 2005 Appreciation Award to Dr. Alan Klein, president of the foundation.

Established in 1973 as the Western Ohio Foundation for Medical Care, the foundation adopted its new name in 1994 and carried on with its original mission-to improve the quality, accessibility, and cost-effectiveness of health care services in the Miami Valley. The foundation's interests lie in developing innovative, system-based approaches to health care that might not otherwise be available without its involvement and support. It places special emphasis on enabling organizations to improve and upgrade their delivery of health care.

The generosity of the foundation has had a major impact at Wright State School of Medicine. In 1999, it established the School of Medicine Community Service Grant, which provides resources for community service experiences for WSU medical students, including the Student-to-Student program, Special Olympics, Habitat for Humanity, and more. The foundation has also provided much-needed support for the Division of Health Systems Management within the Department of Community Health, and also to the Department of Family Medicine.

The foundation has supported the important work of many organizations in our community. Since the inception of the granting program in 1991, the Physicians' Charitable Foundation of the Miami Valley has contributed close to $1.5 million dollars to various community organizations.

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.