Local Aerospace Professionals Receive National Award Recognition

DAYTON, OHIO - Four faculty members of the Division of Aerospace Medicine at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine received national awards from the Aerospace Medical Association at its 77th Annual Scientific Meeting.

Robin E. Dodge, M.D., director of aerospace medicine and associate professor of community health at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, received the 2006 Theodore C. Lyster Award given in honor of the memory of Brig. Gen. Lyster, the first Chief Surgeon, Aviation Section, United States Army Signal Corps. It is given annually for outstanding achievements in the general field of aerospace medicine.

Stanley R. Mohler, M.D., professor emeritus of community health was presented the Marie Marvingt Award. Given in memory of a pioneer French pilot and surgical nurse who, for more than 50 years, actively and untiringly involved herself in the conception and development of air ambulance services and in the education of the general public regarding their use and benefits. The award is presented annually to honor excellence and innovation in aerospace medicine.

William B. Albery, Ph.D., clinical associate professor of community health was given the Kent K. Gillingham award for his significant contribution in the fields of spatial disorientation and situational awareness related to flight.

Francis S. "Ted" Knox, III, Ph.D., adjunct associate professor of community health, received the John Paul Stapp Award, to recognize his outstanding contributions in the field of aerospace biomechanics and to promote progress in protection from injury resulting from ejection, vibration, or impact.

"Wright State received four of the 15 total awards given at that meeting," states Robin Dodge, M.D., director, aerospace medicine. "This underscores the productivity and value of the program to the university and medical school as well as our general community."

The Division of Aerospace Medicine is the oldest civilian aerospace medicine training program for physicians in the United States. The Aerospace Medical Association (AsMA) is the largest, most-representative professional organization in the fields of aviation, space, and environmental medicine. Its mission is to promote and enhance the health, safety and performance of those involved in aerospace and related activities. It is an umbrella group providing a forum for many different disciplines to come together and share their expertise. AsMA's membership includes aerospace medicine specialists, flight nurses, physiologists, psychologists, human factors specialists, and researchers in this field.

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.