National Award Honors Dr. Glenn Hamilton

DAYTON, OHIO-Glenn C. Hamilton, M.D., M.S.M., professor and chair of emergency medicine at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, has been named one of three McCann Scholars. The Joy McCann Foundation has awarded $150,000 to each recipient in recognition of their success as an educator and mentor.

The "no strings attached" award is the only national award by a private foundation designed to recognize outstanding mentors in medicine, nursing, and science. It is given to recognize the importance of the scholars' work, which according to Joy McCann Culverhouse, foundation chair, often goes unheralded and unrewarded. "All the inspiring doctors I've known had mentors who helped shape their careers," said Culverhouse. "Our 2006 awardees are outstanding people, fine teachers, and caring physicians who have nurtured and influenced many careers."

Dr. Hamilton has been chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine for more than 24 years and is the most senior chair in the Emergency Medicine specialty in the United States. "Dr. Hamilton has had an extraordinary and multifaceted impact on the specialty of emergency medicine," says Howard M. Part, M.D., and dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine. "I am delighted that he has received this prestigious national recognition."

Hamilton has contributed to the training of more than 2,000 medical students and 300 resident physicians in emergency medicine. His educational accomplishments have had national impact, including serving as editor for three emergency medicine textbooks. This impact has been recognized by the American College of Emergency Physicians, which awarded him the 2005 "Outstanding Contribution in Education Award."

More than 20 years ago, Hamilton founded a consultation service for developing residency training programs in emergency medicine. Through this effort, more than 70 residencies in emergency medicine in allopathic medical schools have been developed. He also established the consultation service used by medical schools interested in developing academic departments of emergency medicine. He is a co-founder of the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine, established in 1989, with 18 academic departments represented. Today, the group has grown to 73 departments in the nation's allopathic medical schools.

Hamilton is also co-founder and inaugural board member of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine. This society now serves more than 6,000 faculty and residents in emergency medicine. Hamilton currently serves as its president, and he is the past recipient of the society's two highest awards.

Hamilton holds a B.S. and an M.D., from the University of Michigan. He completed an internal medicine residency at the University of Michigan Medical Center in Ann Arbor, and an emergency medicine residency at Denver General Hospital/St. Anthony Hospital Systems in Denver. He holds a Masters of Science in Management from Stanford University Graduate School of Business in San Francisco, and served a fellowship as administrative fellow at Kettering Medical Center.

"The Joy McCann Foundation strongly believes that our scholars and professors are serving the future by acting as role models for today's students. The foundation is proud to invest in the work of these professionals who literally invest themselves in the success of others," says Mrs. Culverhouse. The other two recipients of the award are: Drs. Donald Coffey of Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and Sherine Gabriel of the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine.

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.