John S. Czachor appointed Interim Chair of Internal Medicine

Dayton, Ohio-John S. Czachor, M.D., F.A.C.P., has been appointed interim chair for the Department of Internal Medicine at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, effective July 1.

Czachor is a professor of internal medicine and an assistant professor of pathology at Wright State, where he has been a faculty member since 1989. He also serves as chief for the Section of Infectious Diseases and director of Travel Medicine. He is co-medical director for the Sexually Transmitted Disease Clinic for the Montgomery County Combined Health District and vice-chair of the Infection Control Committee at Miami Valley Hospital.

He holds a B.S. in biology from Wright State University and received his M.D. from Wright State University School of Medicine in 1983. He completed an internship in family medicine at Bayfront Medical Center in St. Petersburg, Florida, and a residency in internal medicine at the Wright State University Internal Medicine Affiliated Hospitals residency program. He completed a two-year infectious diseases fellowship under the University of Massachusetts Medical School at St. Vincent Hospital in Worcester, Massachusetts.

Czachor is board certified in internal medicine and infectious diseases, and has clinical expertise in travel medicine and hospital acquired infections. He is a fellow of the American College of Physicians, the Infectious Diseases Society of America, and the Society for Healthcare Epidemiology of America.

Czachor has won numerous teaching awards, including an Ohio American College of Physicians Master Teacher Award, Miami Valley Hospital House-staff Teaching Award, and the 2006 Boonshoft School of Medicine Outstanding Alumni Award. He is a member of Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society, the Phi Eta Tau Honor Society, and the Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars. A prolific writer, Czachor has authored or coauthored more than 65 publications and book chapters, as well as many presentations.

The Wright State's Department of Internal Medicine is a diverse group that is comprised of thirteen specialties including: Cardiology, gastroenterology, hematology/oncology, infectious diseases, medicine-pediatrics, nephrology, neurology, oncology, pulmonary/critical care, rheumatology, oncology, pulmonary/critical care, and rheumatology. This busy department has 382 faculty members, and 151 residents/fellows based in the following residencies and fellowships: cardiology fellowship, gastroenterology fellowship, hematology/oncology fellowship, infectious disease fellowship, internal medicine/pediatrics residency, internal medicine residency at Kettering Medical Center--an affiliated program, internal medicine residency at Wright State, and transitional year residencies based in the affiliated program at Kettering Medical Center.

For more information, contact Public Relations.

Last edited on 12/15/2014.