John O. Lindower, M.D., Ph.D., receives WSU Medical School Appreciation Award

The Class of 2000 at Wright State University School of Medicine presented John O. Lindower, M.D., Ph.D., with the medical school's annual Appreciation Award at graduation ceremonies held June 9. The award recognizes Lindower's "outstanding leadership and sustained service" as one of the medical school's founders.

Lindower holds M.D. and Ph.D. (pharmacology) degrees from The Ohio State University. Following private practice in the Dayton area, he completed a National Institutes of Health (NIH) postdoctoral fellowship in cardiovascular pharmacology at Ohio State and joined the OSU faculty. In addition to his teaching responsibilities, he helped develop and direct a major revision in the OSU College of Medicine curriculum.

Lindower joined Wright State's faculty in 1975 as professor and founding chair of the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology. He also served as assistant dean for curriculum, directing the development of Wright State's new medical education curriculum.

Over 20 years he held a number of administrative positions at the School of Medicine including associate dean for academic affairs, associate dean for faculty affairs, executive associate dean, and interim dean. He was named professor emeritus by the Wright State University Board of Trustees in 1995.

According to Class of 2000 graduate Michael A. Herbenick, who presented the award, Dr. Lindower provided "extraordinary leadership in developing an innovative curriculum that is nationally recognized for introducing early clinical exposure, clinical electives during the basic science years, and an effective community-based educational program.

"Dr. Lindower made outstanding contributions to building relationships between the school, physicians, and health care institutions in surrounding communities," Herbenick continued. "He served as an exemplary role model and mentor for colleagues, residents, and students."

The Class of 2000 is the 21st class of M.D.'s to graduate from Wright State. Fifty-five of the 80 graduates (69 percent) will enter primary care residencies in family medicine, internal medicine, and pediatrics. Since 1980, when the charter class completed medical school, Wright State has graduated 1,639 M.D.'s.

Last edited on 04/09/2015.