Matthew Crowe, M.D., receives annual Dean's Award

Class of 2001 graduate Matthew Crowe, M.D., received the annual Dean's Award from Wright State University School of Medicine at graduation on June 8. The Dean's Award is given to a graduate who exemplifies the goals of the School of Medicine and who has made important contributions to the school during his or her medical education.

"Matt is truly a leader who gives of himself to fellow students, the university community, and the Dayton community," said Dean of Medicine Howard M. Part, M.D., in presenting the award. "He has a wonderful sense of humor and appears comfortable with everyone and in every clinical environment."

Crowe was elected to the Alpha Omega Alpha National Medical Honor Society during his third year at Wright State, and has served as its vice-president this year. He was president of the Medical School Student Council and vice-president of the class of 2001. He also served as Wright State's student representative to the Association of American Medical Colleges.

During medical school Crowe received the Wright State University Academy of Medicine Scholarship for an outstanding second-year student, the W. and B. Schneider Scholarship for superior academic achievement, and the Phi Rho Sigma Scholarship for outstanding leadership.

Crowe's extensive list of volunteer activities includes service as vice-president of Phi Rho Sigma, a community service organization, where he recruited volunteers and participated in the Special Olympics, Habitat for Humanity, and the St. Joseph's Prom for teenage foster children. He mentored a young man through the Big Brothers/Big Sisters program and volunteered at Reach Out of Montgomery County, a free medical clinic for working poor people in Dayton.

In July, Crowe begins an internal medicine residency at the University of Wisconsin Hospital in Madison, Wisconsin.

The Class of 2001 is the 22nd class of M.D.'s to graduate from Wright State. Fifty of the 83 graduates (60 percent) will enter primary care residencies in family medicine, internal medicine, and pediatrics following graduation. Since 1980, when the charter class completed medical school, Wright State has graduated 1,814 M.D.'s.

Last edited on 04/22/2015.