Medical school initiates new members into honor society

The Wright State chapter of Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) National Medical Honor Society inducted new members in April.

This year's faculty initiates were John R. Donnelly, M.D., associate professor of family medicine and community health, and predoctoral director for the Department of Family Medicine, and William M. Klykylo, M.D., professor of psychiatry and pediatrics and the director of the Division of Child & Adolescent Psychiatry.

This year's alumni initiates were Robert Brandt, M.D. ('80), and Terrence S. Schneiderman, M.D., ('82). Brandt, clinical associate professor of family medicine, is widely recognized for his work with AIDS/HIV, and Schneiderman is a local otolaryngologist. Resident physician initiates are Aaron A. Buerk, M.D., and Steve Burdette, M.D.('00).

Students elected into AWA from the class of 2002 were Sarah D. Corathers, Ryan A. Leahy, Scott R. Monnin, David L. Rogers, James T. Rosneck, David L. Smith, Carrie C. Strauss, Harry R. Vanderwal, Peter E. Vonderau, David R. Wilkinson. From the Class of 2003, student initiates were: Deepa Channaiah, Kimberly G. Deringer, Jacob B. Jones and Marlo N. Oyster.

Alpha Omega Alpha, the only nationwide medical honor society, was founded in 1902 to recognize and promote excellence in the medical profession. The society's aims include promoting scholarship and research among medical students and graduates, and recognizing high attainment in medical science.

Last edited on 04/28/2015.