New medical students begin four years of study to become 21st century physicians

On Sunday, August 4, at 3:00 p.m., 90 medical students will begin the rigorous task of becoming physicians. At the annual Convocation Ceremony held in Wright State University's Student Union, the student's will take their first oath of professional medical ethics that ends, "I commit myself to a lifelong journey of learning how to cure, relieve, and comfort with humility and compassion."

"Taking the oath at the beginning of medical school is meant to instill in students a sense of responsibility, professionalism, and compassion for patients throughout their medical education," according to Paul Carlson, Ph.D., associate dean for student affairs.

Wright State University School of Medicine has been admitting students into its M.D. program since 1976 and has graduated 1900 physicians during that time.

John Donnelly, M.D., associate professor for Family Medicine, is the invited speaker for the event. Donnelly is the recipient of numerous teaching awards. A faculty member at Wright State since 1997, he has received the Teaching Excellence Award three times. Students from the class of 2002 stated during its recent graduation ceremony that, "Dr. Donnelly's compassion with patients, his interests in research, and his dedication to his community and family make him a role model for each and every one of us."

The School of Medicine's mission of excellence goes beyond traditional categories of education, research, and service. As a community-based medical school it is dedicated to improving the educational opportunities and health care resources of the Dayton community it serves. Wright State's innovative educational programs have made it a national leader in primary care medicine. The diversity of our medical student population and our research programs are distinguished by interdisciplinary teamwork and collaboration within the community.

Last edited on 04/28/2015.