School of Medicine professor Ronald Markert wins National Distinguished Teaching Award

Long-time Wright State University Professor of Medicine Ronald J. Markert, Ph.D., was one of four medical school faculty nationwide to receive an Alpha Omega Alpha Robert J. Glaser Distinguished Teacher Award at the Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) 2000 Annual Meeting in Chicago Oct. 28.

"Dr. Markert is nationally recognized for his teaching and facilitating skills in medical education," said Howard M. Part, dean of the School of Medicine. "The quantity and quality of his scholarly work has demonstrated his outstanding ability to generate new ideas, design research studies, and collaborate with colleagues. He is one of the finest teachers and scholars I have had the pleasure to work with and he richly deserves this honor."

Dr. Markert, who taught at Wright State from 1980 through August 2000, was selected for the award because of his outstanding work as an innovative and skilled medical educator. Currently professor of medical education and founding director for the Center for Medical Education at Creighton University School of Medicine, he is nationally known as a specialist in educational development and evaluation.

During his tenure at Wright State, five classes of second-year medical students selected him for the Teaching Excellence Award, more than any other pre-clinical faculty member at the school. In addition, the Wright State University Board of Trustees honored Dr. Markert in 1995 with the title of Robert J. Kegerreis Distinguished Professor of Teaching, the university's most significant teaching recognition.

Dr. Markert has authored or co-authored more than 100 peer-reviewed papers and provided a far greater number of presentations. He has served as a consultant for the Ohio State Medical Association, Tulane University School of Medicine and Merck Pharmaceuticals, among others, and is currently a reviewer for Academic Medicine, a scholarly journal published by the AAMC. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan.

Established by the medical honor society Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA), the Glaser awards recognize faculty who devote their time and energy to providing medical students with an educational experience of the highest quality. The AOA award was named in honor of Robert J. Glaser, M.D., long-time executive secretary of AOA.

The Association of American Medical Colleges represents the accredited North American medical schools, more than 400 major teaching hospitals, and 91 academic and professional societies representing 88,000 faculty members, 67,000 medical students, and 102,000 physician residents.

Last edited on 04/09/2015.