Thomas Mathews, M.D., wins medical school's Teaching Excellence Award

The Class of 2001 at Wright State University School of Medicine presented Thomas Mathews, M.D., with its Teaching Excellence Award at graduation on June 8.

"The Teaching Excellence Award honors outstanding teaching, commitment to medical students, personal integrity, and superior clinical skills and knowledge. Dr. Mathews demonstrates all of these qualities," said Class of 2001 graduate Jill S. Waibel, who presented the award.

Dr. Mathews is a professor of neurology and pathology at Wright State, where he has chaired the Department of Neurology since 1993. He also serves as chief of the Neurology Service at the Dayton Veterans Affairs Medical Center. A member of the Wright State faculty since 1979, he has won ten previous teaching awards over the years.

Dr. Mathews previously held faculty appointments at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine and the Menninger Postgraduate School of Psychiatry in Kansas. He holds an M.D. degree from the University of Singapore. He completed a three-year residency in neurology at Northwestern University Medical School, followed by a two-year fellowship in neuropathology at Bowman Gray School of Medicine at Wake Forest University.

Dr. Mathews is certified in neurology by the American Board of Neurology and Psychiatry and in neuropathology by the American Board of Pathology. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Neurology and the Royal College of Physicians of Canada.

The Class of 2001 is the 22nd class of M.D.'s to graduate from Wright State. Fifty of the 83 graduates (60 percent) will enter primary care residencies in family medicine, internal medicine, and pediatrics following graduation. Since 1980, when the charter class completed medical school, Wright State has graduated 1,814 M.D.'s.

Last edited on 04/22/2015.