Academy of Medicine


photo of a speaker and audience

About the Academy of Medicine

academy of medicine logo

The Wright State University Academy of Medicine is a community-based service organization dedicated to supporting excellence in medicine through education, research and service. Since its founding in 1977, the Academy of Medicine has made a difference in the lives of students at Wright State University's Boonshoft School of Medicine. Thanks in part to the Academy’s dedicated annual and life members, the school remains a catalyst for better health care by preparing outstanding physicians.

The organization supports medical education through providing student loans and awarding student and faculty achievement. Through membership, the Academy has circulated $2 million in student loans — saving more than 400 students the high costs of commercial loans. With loan repayments and Academy memberships, nearly $125,000 is being added to the pool annually. All this comes from an annual membership of $250. In addition, physicians in their residency qualify for a discounted associate membership of $50.

Board of Trustees

  • Samia Borchers, M.D. — Chair
  • Bruce Binder, M.D.
  • Daniel Dunaway, M.D.
  • Margaret Dunn, M.D., M.B.A. — ex officio
  • Megan Dines, M.D.
  • Dana Frazer, M.D.
  • Julie Gentile, M.D.
  • Kelli Melvin, M.D.
  • Jeffrey Travers, M.D.

Student and Faculty Awards

Each year, the Academy of Medicine presents awards to outstanding students and faculty. The awards are presented each spring at the Annual Dinner, based upon academic achievement for the current year.

View the past winners of the Academy of Medicine Awards.

Low Interest Loan Program

The Academy of Medicine's low-interest loan program for Wright State medical students is one of the best available anywhere in the nation. It has the lowest interest rate (5 percent) and the longest deferral of payment (three years after graduation).

Since 1985, member-supported Academy programs have generated $2.5 million in simple-interest loans to over 400 Wright State medical students. Used strategically in place of more expensive loans that compound during medical school and residency, Academy loans have saved medical students $448,800 in additional debt burden. What's more, the Academy has a 99.8 percent pay back rate on its loans.

Scholarship Fund

The Academy of Medicine has created a new scholarship fund to address one of the Boonshoft School of Medicine's highest priorities: philanthropic support for scholarships. As the cost of attending medical school continues to climb nationwide, Boonshoft School of Medicine graduates are now entering residencies with an average debt of more than $174,000. This new scholarship fund was created to help reduce their reliance on costly loans to cover their tuition.

To contribute to the Academy of Medicine Scholarship Fund, make your gift online. For more information about the fund, contact Nicki Crellin at or (937) 245-7634.


  • John R. Beljan, M.D.*
  • Richard A. DeWall, M.D.*
  • Raymond M. Kahn, M.D.*
  • Frank L. Shively, Jr., M.D.
  • Sylvan L. Weinberg, M.D.*

Drs. Beljan and Shively first envisioned the Academy of Medicine on a fishing trip. They saw that School of Medicine faculty members were in a unique position to provide financial assistance to medical students. Dr. Beljan explained, “We discussed how to break down the barriers among the university, community, and medical school and how to unify them into a cohesive force to benefit the people of this region.” Their pioneering vision was realized in today's Academy of Medicine.


Join the Academy of Medicine

To join the Academy of Medicine, make your gift online.

  • Life Membership - $1,000, plus $100 for each year under age 60
  • Annual Membership - $250
  • Associate Membership (Residents) - $50

For more information, contact Nicki Crellin at or (937) 245-7634.

Last edited on 09/29/2017.