Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

mother, daughter and grandmotherWelcome

The mission of the department is to provide a quality educational program that promotes excellence in teaching, research and professional service. The primary goal of our program focuses on providing the knowledge and skills of obstetrics and gynecology and preparing medical students and residents for primary care and preventive clinical practice, as well as specialty practice in obstetrics and gynecology. In addition, our program prepares resident physicians for American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology (ABOG) certification, encourages subspecialty training within the discipline and enhances a strong sense of ethics, responsibility and leadership in academic medicine. The department continues to receive national recognition in medical education conferences and presentations, research, publications, awards, national office appointments and national committee service.

The department is comprised of 30 fully affiliated faculty, 24 resident instructors and 58 partially affiliated faculty. The departmental organizational structure is divided into six main divisions:

  • General Obstetrics and Gynecology (includes Minimally Invasive and Robotic Surgery)
  • Gynecologic Oncology
  • Maternal-Fetal Medicine
  • Reproductive Endocrinology and Infertility
  • Research
  • Urogynecology and Pelvic Reconstructive Surgery

Our goal focuses mainly on providing excellence in teaching, research and service to the school, university and community, as well as strengthening all aspects of management in health care.

Last edited on 09/27/2023.