Department of Psychiatry

Research

Dr. Sydney Silverstein and Dr. Danielle Gainer present at the BSOM Research Symposium and discuss their collaborative qualitative research projects related to substance use disorders and trauma.


The Research Division within the Department of Psychiatry supports residents and faculty members to conduct a variety of scholarly projects. Scholar’s Forum is a bimonthly meeting supported by the Division and provides opportunities for collaboration, feedback, and discussion. This division has an active collaboration with the Department of Population and Public Health Sciences, including with Center for Interventions, Treatment, and Addictions Research (CITAR). Together with the team at CITAR, the psychiatry research division is in the process of conducting a mixed methods research study related to disparities in post-overdose trajectories. Psychiatry residents have also begun conducting systematic reviews related to mindfulness and substance use disorders. Residents have also created a prospective project researching cognitive measures at OneFifteen that may be predictive of substance use disorder treatment engagement and dropout.  The Division of Research also supports medical students in research projects related to a variety of psychiatric conditions.  A sample of faculty publications can be found at the Core Scholar website for the Department of Psychiatry. 

 

Faculty Research

Name and Academic Postion Email Address Clinical Interests Research Interests
Ryan Mast, D.O., M.B.A. ryan.mast@wright.edu ADHD, Intellectual Disability, Autism, College Mental Health ADHD, Intellectual Disability, College Mental Health
Suzie Nelson, M.D. suzie.nelson@wright.edu ADHD, Military Psychiatry, Integrated Care ADHD, Military Psychiatry
Bethany Harper, M.D. bethany.harper@wright.edu ADHD, Intellectual Disorder, Autism, College Mental Health ADHD, Intellectual Disability, College Mental Health
Brian Merrill, M.D., M.B.A. brian.merrill@wright.edu ADHD, Intellectual Disability, Autism, College Mental Health, Substance Use Disorder ADHD, Intellextual Disability, Autism, College Mental Health, Substance Use Disorder
Julie Gentile, M.D., M.B.A. julie.gentile@wright.edu Traumatic Brain Injury, Intellectual Disability Autism, Co-occurring conditions, Intellectual Disability, Traumatic Brain Injury
Allison Cowan, M.D. allison.cowan@wright.edu Psychotherapy, Intellectual Disability Psychotherapy, Intellectual Disability
Danielle Gainer, M.D. danielle.gainer@wright.edu Integrated Care, Intellectual Disability, Substance Use Disorder  Substance Use Disorder, Technology, Trauma
Nita Bhatt, M.D., M.P.H. nita.bhatt@wright.edu Intellectual Disability, Neurocognitive Disorders, Treatment Resistant Schizophrenia, and Women's Health Intellectual Disability, Neurocognitive Disorders, Treatment Resistant Schizophrenia, and Women's Health
Kelly Blankenship, D.O. kelly.blankenship@wright.edu Austism Spectrum Disorder, Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder and substance abuse Austism Spectrum Disorder and substance abuse 
Terry Correll, D.O. terry.correll@wright.edu Aerospace Psychiatry, Psychiatric Diagnosis and Treatment, including Nonpharmacologic Approaches (Lifestyle Psychiatry) Academic Psychiatry, Lifestyle Psychiatry
Matthew Baker, D.O. matthew.baker@wright.edu Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Military Psychiatry, Academic Psychiatry/Health Professions Education Child and Adolescent Psychiatry/Health
Kari Harper, M.D. kari.harper@wright.edu Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Medical Student Mental Health Medical Student Mental Health, COVID-19, Child and Adolescent Psychiatry, Substance Use Disorder

 

Last edited on 11/16/2022.