About the Dean

Margaret Dunn, M.D., M.B.A., FACS
Margaret Dunn, M.D., M.B.A., FACS
Margaret M. Dunn, M.D., M.B.A., FACS, was appointed dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine at Wright State University effective Feb. 3, 2015. Dunn has been with the medical school since 1982. In her more than 30 years at Wright State, she has sustained an extensive record of academic and administrative accomplishments and has made significant contributions to the growth and operation of the school’s clinical, educational and research programs.

Dunn’s experience includes leadership positions within the Boonshoft School of Medicine and Wright State Physicians, Inc., the school's faculty practice plan, which is one of the largest physician-managed multispecialty groups in the Dayton, Ohio, region. She served as the executive associate dean of the medical school and president and CEO of Wright State Physicians from 2007 to 2013. She was responsible for the construction of the Wright State Physicians Health Center, a 66,000-square-foot building on the campus of Wright State University that opened in June 2012.

A professor of surgery at the medical school, Dunn is currently a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons and serves on its Board of Regents. She was instrumental in the formation of and is past president of the Association of Women Surgeons (AWS) and was in the charter class of the prestigious Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine® program for women in medicine.

A pioneer in advancing women in surgery, Dunn was the first woman to practice general surgery in the Dayton region. In 2011, AWS honored her with its most prestigious award, the Nina Starr Braunwald Award, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to the advancement of women in surgery. Dunn is certified in general surgery by the American Board of Surgery.

A native of Freeport, New York, she received a Bachelor of Science degree from Pennsylvania State University and holds an M.D. from Jefferson Medical College in Philadelphia. She completed her surgery residency and served as chief surgical resident at Einstein-Montefiore Medical Center in New York City. She completed an M.B.A. at Wright State University and is a member of the honorary medical society Alpha Omega Alpha.

Dean’s Office Staff

Drew Dieckman, B.S.C.

School of Medicine Admin
Administrative Assistant
Wright State Physicians Bldg, 725 University Blvd, 3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy, Dayton, OH 45435-0001
Last edited on 09/27/2017.