Faculty and Clinical Affairs

Student Promotion Committee

Elected term is four years. Student term is one year.



Term ends June 30

Bradley Jacobs, M.D.

Faculty - Elected


Courtney Sulenic, Ph.D.

Faculty - Elected


Smita Krishnamurthy, M.D.

Faculty - Elected


Ryan Mast, D.O.

Faculty - Elected


Anne Proulx, D.O.

Dean's appointee


Ray Ten Eyck, M.D.

Dean's appointee, Chair


Erica Taylor, M.D. Dean's appointee  

Gary LeRoy, M.D.

Associate Dean, bylaws mandate


Jennifer Barbador

non-voting student representative, B1/Foundations Curriculum


Kamari Jackson

non-voting student representative, B2/Doctoring Curriculum


A. Committee Purpose

The Student Promotion Committee shall (1) evaluate medical student performance and (2) nominate medical students for certification of graduation.

Evaluate the overall performance of each medical student at the termination of each academic year and recommend to the associate dean for students affairs, the promotion, or other appropriate action, of the student.

During the course of an academic year, the associate dean and the committee chair shall have major responsibility for keeping the Student Promotion Committee informed as to the performance of each class, paying particular attention to those students experiencing academic difficulty.

When appropriate, the committee chair may call the committee into session for formal review and/or action related to a student's academic performance.

Nominate medical students for certification of graduation in the instance of the final grading sequence. The nominations must be ratified by the Faculty of Medicine before presentation to the president for final action by the Board of Trustees.

B. Committee Membership

The Student Promotion Committee shall be composed of the associate dean for student affairs, two students, one from each biennium, and eight members elected by the faculty. Each elected faculty member shall serve for four years; one fourth of the faculty positions will be filled by election annually. Each student will serve a one-year term.

Recognizing that the School of Medicine desires a diverse student body and serves a total community, the committee should, ideally, include representation from this broad constituency. In the event that the associate dean for student affairs perceives an imbalance in the composition of the committee, the associate dean may, with the concurrence of the majority of the committee voting, appoint an additional one to two faculty members for a one-year term.

C. Committee Meetings

The committee shall meet upon the call of the chair at least once at the termination of each academic year. It can be called for specific business during the academic year by the dean, its chair, or by written petition to its chair by any two members of the committee.

D. Student Petition

A student may petition the associate dean for student affairs that there be further deliberations in the student's behalf; the associate dean may call the committee to deliberate the specific petition. Results of such a call meeting shall be recorded and filed in the office of the associate dean for student affairs.

Source: Bylaws of the Faculty of Medicine, Article V, Section 4.

Reports to faculty

Last edited on 06/23/2017.