Boonshoft School of Medicine earns Accreditation with Commendation for its CME

Vital Signs » Spring 2014

The national Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME ® ) awarded the Boonshoft School of Medicine Continuing Medical Education (CME) Accreditation with Commendation at its July 2013 meeting.

Accreditation with Commendation is awarded nationally to only a few CME providers that demonstrate compliance in 22 criteria. The ACCME commended the medical school for meeting the accreditation requirements and for demonstrating that it is a learning organization and a change agent for the physicians served in the Miami Valley.

This is the first time Wright State has received Accreditation with Commendation. “It’s a real marker for excellence for the Boonshoft School of Medicine,” said Albert F. Painter Jr., Psy.D., assistant dean for faculty and clinical affairs. “We have created a continuum of medical education that starts in medical school, continues in residency, and is offered in medical practice with continuing education. The accreditation with commendation shows that the Boonshoft School of Medicine is a national leader in physician education.”

In 2011, the medical school partnered with Premier Health to help streamline continuing medical education in Dayton. “We share many of the same physicians with the hospitals. In the past, some educational efforts were duplicated because we have similar needs but did not have the means to identify them,” said Karen Bertke, CME program administrator for the medical school. “We now can simplify those efforts to include not only hospital requirements but also medical school and residency educational requirements.”

The medical school’s CME program works closely with other Ohio medical school CME programs through a consortium, CPD Ohio. In 2012, the medical school received the Alliance for Continuing Education in the Health Professions Award for Innovation in Continuing Professional Development.

Last edited on 04/18/2016.