Emergency medicine residents win quiz show at Ohio ACEP assembly

Vital Signs » Fall 2014
photo of residents with an award
photo of residents with a poster

Residents from the Department of Emergency Medicine placed first in the Emergency Medicine Residents’ Association (EMRA) Quiz Show in Columbus, Ohio.

The quiz show was part of the 2014 Ohio Emergency Medicine Residents’ Assembly of the Ohio Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians (ACEP) held in August. The first-place team included residents Rory Stuart, M.D.; Leo Tanaka, M.D.; Sara Birdsong, M.D.; and Jonathan Henderson, M.D. They competed against nine other emergency resident teams.

Residents Jessica Rando, M.D., and Derek Broering, M.D., also won Best Poster Award for their research, “Intranasal Naloxone Administration by Police First-Responders is Associated with Improved Survival of Opioid Overdose Victims.”

Top photo: (Top row) Rory Stuart, M.D., Jonathan Henderson, M.D., Devin Burrup, M.D., Derek Broering, M.D., Taylor Baldwin, M.D., and Jeremy Moore, M.D. (Bottom row) Leo Tanaka, M.D., Sara Birdsong, M.D., and Brian Tucker, M.D.

Bottom photo: (Right) Residents Jessica Rando, M.D., and Derek Broering, M.D., won Best Poster Award.

Last edited on 09/22/2015.