On The Move - Spring 2010

Vital Signs » Spring 2010
Photo of James E. Brown
Photo of Paul G. Koles
Photo of Julian J. Trevino

James E. Brown, Jr., M.D., M.M.M., FACEP, EMT-P
Acting Chair Department of Emergency Medicine
The Boonshoft School of Medicine has appointed James E. Brown, Jr., M.D., M.M.M., FACEP, EMT-P, acting chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine. Prior to joining the faculty in 1994, Brown received a B.A. in philosophy (cum laude) from the Seminary of St. Pius X and earned a M.D. from the University of Louisville, where he also completed a residency program in emergency medicine and served as chief resident. An associate professor of emergency medicine, Brown has served as the department’s vice chair since 2007 and has directed its residency program for nearly a decade. In addition to being board certified in emergency medicine, he holds EMT Paramedic and EMT Tactical licenses and numerous advanced life support certifications, and serves as an advisor and tactical medic for the Dayton Police and Montgomery County Sheriff SWAT teams. Brown is also a member of the American Medical Association, the Ohio State Medical Association, the Greater Miami Valley EMS Council, the State of Ohio EMS Regional Physician’s Advisory Board and the National Association of EMS Physicians. He is a Fellow of both the American College of Emergency Physicians and the American Academy of Emergency Medicine.

Paul G. Koles, M.D.
Chair, Department of Pathology
Paul G. Koles, M.D., associate professor of pathology and surgery, has been named chair of the Department of Pathology. A full-time faculty member since 2001 and a member of the clinical faculty since 1986, Koles is beloved by his students. They have awarded him the Teaching Excellence in Pre-Clinical Medical Education for an unprecedented seven years since 2002. He has also received the Allen N. Pope Special Merit and Teaching Excellence Awards from the Student National Medical Association, a Faculty Excellence in Teaching Award from the Southwestern Ohio Council for Higher Education and a Faculty Mentor Award from the Boonshoft School of Medicine in 2005. Koles came to the medical school in 2001 from Kettering Medical Center, where he served as chief of pathology and medical director of clinical laboratories. He practiced anatomic and clinical pathology full-time with Kettering Pathology Associates from 1986 to 2001. Koles earned a B.A. from Andrews University and an M.D. from Loma Linda University before completing his residency in anatomic and clinical pathology at Kettering Medical Center/Wright State University, where he served as chief resident.

Julian J. Trevino, M.D.
Acting Chair, Department of Dermatology
The medical school has named Julian J. Trevino, M.D. (’87), acting chair of the Department of Dermatology. Trevino joined the faculty in 1991 as a resident instructor within the Dermatology Residency Program, where he also served as chief resident. Following his residency training, which also included three years with the Cleveland Clinic Foundation Department of Internal Medicine, Trevino became a full-time faculty member in 1994. An alumnus of the medical school, Trevino came to Wright State after graduating summa cum laude with a B.A. from Trinity University (Texas). Today, Trevino is an associate professor of dermatology and serves as director of the medical school’s Dermatology Residency Program and Immunodermatology Laboratory. He is also chief of dermatology and chair of the Medical Quality Council for the Dayton Veterans Affairs Medical Center and head of the Division of Dermatology for the Children’s Medical Center of Dayton. Trevino is board certified in dermatology and pediatric dermatology; is a member of the Ohio State Medical Association; is a member, past president, and president-elect of the Ohio Dermatological Association; and is a Fellow of both the American Academy of Dermatology and the Association of Professors of Dermatology.

Last edited on 09/22/2015.