Tell us your thoughts about our site!

We’ve created a brief survey that will only take a few minutes. Help us give all visitors an easy-to-use and highly functional experience.

Department of Pediatrics

Area Health Education Center

Center for Healthy Communities

The Ohio State Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) program, administered through seven regional medical schools, seeks to improve the availability of health care professionals and improve access to quality health care in Ohio, especially for underserved populations. The mission is accomplished through:

  • academic and community collaboration that emphasizes primary care and focuses on underserved areas
  • continuing education in health professions across the state
  • education in health promotion and disease prevention within the community
  • introducing young people to careers in health

The Center for Healthy Communities serves as the Area Health Education Center for Region IV in Ohio. Region IV serves Champaign, Clark, Darke, Greene, Miami, Montgomery, Preble and Shelby counties. The Region IV program director is Katherine Cauley, Ph.D., director of the Center for Healthy Communities.

The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine and the Center for Healthy Communities engage in programming that promotes the Ohio AHEC mission.

Continuing Education for Health Professionals

The Center for Healthy Communities periodically presents community education opportunities for health professionals in the Greater Dayton area, both in day-long conferences and shorter seminars and workshops. Recognizing that health professionals work in partnership across many disciplines, CHC strives to present interdisciplinary perspectives of important healthcare topics in its community education programs and offer continuing education credit to physicians (CME), nurses, psychologists, counselors, and social workers.

AHEC Programs in Ohio

ahec logo

Last edited on 01/06/2017.